• _assets_/images/pic.jpg


County Council

County Council

Home » Government » County Council


Request email notification when page changes Get Updates
County Seal Logo colorMission Statement:

"It is the mission of Darlington County to improve the quality of life by planning, organizing, and conducting the public's business and providing public services with commitment to equal treatment, courtesy, high quality, economy, high ethical standards and promotion of unity among all segments and sections of the county through openness and citizen participation."

Darlington County Council is an eight-member elected governing body dedicated to providing the most efficient services to its citizens. The Council is responsible for adopting the annual budget and setting policies and procedures that govern Darlington County.  The Darlington County Council meets the first Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., at the Courthouse Annex/EMS Building, 1625 Harry Byrd Highway (Highway 151), Darlington, SC.

The Council encourages citizen participation and provides opportunities for citizens to present their concerns at the beginning of each regular meeting. Citizens may sign up before the meeting to make a two minutes presentation during Citizens' Comments or submit a written request for a scheduled Personal Appearance (up to ten minutes). The request for a Personal Appearance should specifically identify the subject to be addressed and the name and address of the person appearing and submitted to the Clerk to Council  at 1 Public Square, Room 210, Darlington, SC 29532 or Email Clerk to Council 

Appearances before County Council
Darlington County Code of Ordinances, Chapter 2, Section 2-85 states that input must be in the form of suggestions, information or comments pertaining to programs or activities of county government. Comments should not be made, either complimentary or critical, naming any citizen, board or commission member, employee, or council member.

Speakers' comments will be received only as information. This time is provided for citizens to state their suggestions, information or comments, not for a debate or interrogation involving council members or staff. If a member of council wishes to have a discussion of a topic initiated during citizen comments, a member can make a motion to have the topic scheduled for council discussion and possible action at a subsequent meeting.

Council Members
Click here for District Map






Darlington County Council

Mr. Robert L. Kilgo, Jr.
Post Office Box 583
Darlington, SC 29540
Term: Jan. 3, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2020
District #1 - Darlington
Send Email

Mr. Dannie Douglas, Jr.
3333 N. Governor Williams Highway
Darlington, SC 29540
843-393-0265 (H)
Term: Jan. 2, 2019 to Dec. 31, 2022
District #2 - Society Hill
Send Email

Ms. Joyce W. Thomas
Post Office Box 746
Darlington, SC 29540
843-393-0998 (H)
Term: Jan. 3, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2020
District #3 - Darlington   
Send Email

Mr. Bobby Hudson
Post Office Box 545
Lamar, SC 29069
843-326-5634 (H)
Term: Jan. 2, 2019 to Dec. 31, 2022
District #4 - Lamar
Send Email

LeFlowers - Copy (2)
Mr. Marvin Le Flowers
1920 Harry Byrd Highway
Darlington, SC 29532
843-393-7904 (H)
Term: Jan. 3, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2020
District #5 - Swift Creek Area
Send Email

Davis, Apr 19 - Copy
Mr. Albert Davis, III
Post Office Box 964
Hartsville, SC 29551
Term: Jan. 2, 2019 to Dec. 31, 2022
District #6 - Hartsville
Send Email

Mr. J. Lewis Brown
Vice Chairman
326 Birchwood Drive
Hartsville, SC 29550
Term: Jan. 3, 2017 to Dec. 31, 2020
District #7 - Hartsville/Kelleytown
Send Email

Mr. David Coker
912A W. Carolina Avenue
Hartsville, SC 29550
Term: Jan. 2, 2019 to Dec.31, 2022
Dist. #8 - Hartsville
Send Email

CharlesStewart - Copy (2)
Marion Charles Stewart, III 

County Administrator
1 Public Square, Room 210
Darlington, SC 29532
843-393-8539 (Fax)
Send Email

Mr. James C. Cox, Jr.
County Attorney
Saleeby & Cox, P.A.
Post Office Box 519
Hartsville, SC 29550
843-383-5800 (Fax)